#1
#1
#2
#2
#3
#3

This week’s artist caught my eye with the beautiful flowers and the vibrant colors. It was not until later that I realized the soldiers hiding in the plants in a position of offense. I love to garden, and looking at the painting, it was like love at first sight. But then I realized the soldiers and I felt like the meaning I gave it had changed. Soldiers represent protection, fighting, violence, and hostility.

But, talking to the artist, Alice Andreini, about her piece in Site Lines, she gave me a better understanding. She was inspired to paint flowers because of her mother’s garden. And while her mother was moving the soil, she would find toys that were in the soil. One of them being a soldier figurine. And so, Alice added the toy soldier into her flower paining as to show the soldiers defending the garden, or, it could be seen as disrupting the garden. I looked at the soldiers as representing security and protection. Alice also wanted to add the soldiers because she thought it gave her piece a different dynamic; and I agree.

Alice has been an artist for five years. She was encouraged to paint by her friends and she is still getting used to paining with vibrant colors. These pieces are her first paintings on a large canvas. She used oil paints because it is her favorite kind of paint, and she wanted to experiment with the colors. If you would like to see more of Alice Andreini’s work, look her up on Facebook.

