I was able to get to know my classmate Steven Yang. He major is in Chinese studies and he has a business minor in cosmetology. His favorite pass time is going on hikes, wrestling, and practicing Judo. He attended Cerritos High School and sometimes goes back to coach the wrestling team. I attended Artesia High School, which is close to Cerritos. Unfortunately, we never crossed paths until now. This week’s question was, does art matter? Steven says art does matter. Without art, the world would be plane and boring. There would be no self expression or creativity.

I agree with Steven, art does matter. Art is what people create, whether it be through construction, the clothes people wear, the food we cook, or anything that is man made. I imagine a world where nothing is ever created by man (women and men), and I see a world as though man is not native to Earth. Art is man’s way of showing that we exist in the world; it is our marker.

