Well, what is it?
Well, what is it?

After learning more about Kyle kruse’s One Who sees. I meet my classmate Gillian English just outside the gallery. We asked each other what we thought art is. We were both baffled. We didn’t even know how to describe art. Gillian believes cooking, designing clothes, and other creative works is art. I agree with her. Art is what people create. It is just something people are compelled or feel like doing. Everyone has created art. Whether it was an assignment, an accident, or because he or she wanted to do it. I have created art, but it is hard for me because my ideas works faster than what my hands are able to keep up with. Therefore, I don’t normally finish or feel satisfied with what I end up creating.

After Gillian and I discussed what art is, we began to get to know each other a little more. We talked about our last names. Her last name is English and she says it’s ironic because her mother is Hispanic. I like it because I have never heard of English as a last name before. I told her about my last name, Herrera. Herrera is a surname of Spanish origin meaning ironsmith. I am into finding the meaning of names, and why a person was named a certain name. Names are important. It was nice getting to know Gillian, and I hope to get to know her more throughout this semester and beyond. You can get to know her too by checking out her awesome website at http://englishgillian.wordpress.com.

